365 Days 2017 (Day 3): Perfection

January  3rd, 2017

Today’s Highlights: The weather in Michigan was wet and rainy. The weather provided for a relaxing day. I had a dentist appointment and Thank God for no cavities! Potty training with Evie is a little difficult compared to Charlie’s potty training. We take three steps forward and then its two steps back. Evie does amazing sleeping through the night without waking up to go potty until morning time. Hopefully, tomorrow will be a better day. I am enjoying learning the differences between training Charlie and Evie. Charlie learns a lot quicker and is a lot more calmer to go with the flow. Evie is definitely more sassy and intelligent, but distracted. I would’t change her for a second. Overall, today was a good day.

Photo of the day:

15803786_1194331677269244_4171320882674794496_n(1).jpg

1-3-17 Day 3: There is no such thing as a perfect photo with two dogs but the memories are priceless ❤❤❤

 

Thought of the day: Perfection. I think most of us spend our entire lives trying to create perfect moments, perfect looks, and everything else into perfection. This level of trying to make everything perfect comes from the fact that we are so focused and worried about what society thinks of us. Media plays a big role. I will admit that I am one of those people. I do worry about what people think of me. I try to make sure that everything that I do is perfect, but I do realize that perfection is impossible. There is no such thing as perfection. It does not help that social media plays a big role in this thinking. It is amazing how much power that social media has on a person. I can say that the older I get, the more I learn to not care about what society thinks. There is a healthy amount that you should care, but it should not push you towards anxiety, depression and so on. Focus on yourself and work towards success, not perfection. Most importantly, do not focus on perfection, focus on being who you are as a person. Here is a quote:

“But life isn’t something that should be edited. Life shouldn’t be cut. The only way you’ll ever discover what it truly means to be alive and human is by sharing the full experience of what it means to be human and each blemish and freckle that comes with it.”
― Iain Thomas

A fact about me: Most people do not know that I am deaf. I have Bilateral Profound Sensorineural Hearing Loss. I was implanted at the age of 1 1/2 and 18 with Cochlear Implants. The cause of my deafness was related to high fever and measles. People always ask me if I regret getting implants. NO, I do not regret getting implants because without them, I would not be where I am today. These implants have changed my life in ways that I cannot imagine. They have provided me with endless opportunities and are the inspiration to why I want to become an Audiologist. Becoming an Audiologist has always been my dream career since I can remember wanting to be something. I want to help others and inspire others. It is a part of who I am.

1483791_798311043529911_1122505949_n
Photo Credentials: Andy Davis

I hope you enjoyed reading this. Feel free to ask any questions, or offer any advice.

Hope you have a beautiful day.

Thanks,

Rikki Kolowich

@charliejamesevielynn_goldens

 

 

Leave a Reply

